Manager Mayhem - Employee Edition

Sarah says, “I have a great relationship with my manager, but I don’t understand why I’m not getting promoted. My performance evaluations were good so I don’t know what else I can do.”

Mike says, “I get along really well with my clients. I’ve known them for years, but now they keep leaving. My manager told me I need to keep my clients from leaving, or else, but I don’t know how I control them leaving.”

Managers tend to be either great or awful. What do you do about it?

Keep reading to save your mental health, and maybe hear a harsh truth. I hope you’re ready.

If you have an awful manager, you usually know if they’re awful. Sometimes, you may not. You have no idea what they’re saying about you behind your back, but you hope it’s positive. You also might have a manager that means well, but doesn’t know how to provide constructive criticism to help you grow.

What to do if you know you have an awful manager:

  1. Understand what about them is making them an awful manager. Does everyone seem to feel the same way or just you? Sometimes it could just be a style/personality mismatch.

  2. If they are being downright aggressive and mean or inappropriate in other ways, talk to HR. Be prepared with specific examples.

  3. Have an honest conversation with your manager about what you need from them. It’s possible they were too caught up in other things or didn’t realize what they were doing. A good manager will be receptive to hearing this and appreciate it.

  4. If they aren’t supporting you or helping you grow, start networking with other areas or managers to build your own brand. Find a mentor

  5. Sit down and think about your role in the relationship. Do you think you’re performing well in your role?

  6. If they’re criticizing everything you do and #3 and #4 haven’t worked, it’s likely time to find a new job. When a manager can’t say something nice, it’s because they’re preparing to put you on a performance plan.

Advice to Sarah - Tell your manager what you want to achieve and ask what you need to do to get there. Then make a plan to accomplish those items.

Advice to Mike - Ask your clients if they’re happy with the service they’re receiving and if there’s anything you can do to make their experience better. Let someone know if there’s an issue you’re not sure how to solve or you’re not getting timely responses.

There are generally three sides to every story. Person A, Person B, and the truth. Sometimes you need an outsider’s perspective to get clarity. Sometimes you just need a break. Let me help you figure it out.

Reply

or to participate.